top of page

Simplistically the Best

You know... I'm not gonna lie. I downloaded Please, Touch the Artwork by Studio Waterzooi with no expectations. I didn't know what type of game it was going to be. I just knew it was a puzzle game and that's it. I've played a plethora of puzzle games. So I figured this was just going to be another game generic puzzle game. Nothing about it will interest me. 2 hours after having that thought, and playing the game, this is probably the best puzzle game I have ever played.


Please, Touch the Artwork is so simple. The graphics are simplistic, taking an art style by abstract art pioneer Piet Mondrian and revealing puzzles that are of his great works. Or at least that is what I believe. I did look into some of the pictures and google searched to see if I could find any, which I am pretty sure I found one or two, but the point is, this developers here found a way to not only get me excited about doing the next puzzle and the next puzzle, but it didn't make me upset, or frustrated. Yea, there were some puzzles that I had to get my friend to help me on, but sitting there with the two of us over discord and just figuring these puzzles out, was fun. I wasn't expecting this level of fun from just simply touching the art pieces. We had a good laugh or seven when we would complete them and move to the next one in triumph. This feeling of achievement was refreshing.



Using the abstract art and turning them into wonderful puzzles was truly a concept that when you think about it, so simple, nothing innovative, but Studio Waterzooi not only took this idea and made it magical, but they also made it though provoking without making it irritating. Now maybe it was because of the soothing, peaceful and tranquil soundtrack that this game provided that helped with the feeling of not being stressed while failing puzzles on multiple times, but not once was I stressed out. Where the puzzles range from figuring out which lines to place down first, to how to fill the colors while keeping other colors intact. Other puzzles asked you to send Boogie and Woogie to each others loving embrace. Which I wanted to also point out, giving the puzzles heartfelt stories using only text had me invested even more in playing this game. All of which, using Piet's abstract styles to tell a story while you're completing each round. Again, such a simple concept, but turned into an entire vibe.



One of my favorite things about this game was the feeling of "I have to tell these specific people about this game so that they can keep a lookout for it when it launches." I have friends who love puzzle games. They play nothing but puzzle games. And this is probably the one and only game on G.Round that I thought to myself they HAD to play. Yea, there were other puzzle games that I have played and reviewed, but this is the only one that is strictly dedicated to the genre with no added ingredients. This was a solid game. I have nothing but good things to say about it.



Well, there was one bad thing. At the end of the puzzles it asked me to enter my email address so that I can keep tabs on the game and possibly win a contest for a free copy of this game. Well, my email address is too long for the entry. So that kind of left a sour feeling after all the fun I had. I wanted that chance to win. Studio Waterzooi, which by the way I love your name, I would definitely say if you can, make the email entry a little longer for those of us that have huge emails using our real names. Other than that though, Please, Touch the Artwork is probably one of my favorite games, or at least in my top 5 favorite games, on G.Round that I have played thus far.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page