top of page

Never Sleep Again

Neotro Inc seems to have the blueprint figured out for action shooters. To give you an idea of what I mean, I finished writing another article, and decided I would play NeverAwake for a bit just to get the feel of the game. I mean, I have played action shooters before, grew up on them, nothing really special about the genre really. So, I figured I would just, play a bit, then I can play a little later to write this article. So, like normal, I download the game off G.Round, I load it up, and I sit back with my controller and only expected to play about 20-30min of the game. So, 2 hours later I realized I played the ever-living hell out of this game, and I am stuck in confusion on to what happened?



Again, this is an action shooter. If you have ever played games like R-Type, Contra, Nights I mean the list goes on and on. The game genuinely has nothing extravagant or different about it. But I was so sucked and drawn into this title. After taking some time to really think about it, I figured out 100% why this was such a fun and good feeling of a game. At first, I was at a loss of losing time. I summed it up to just being bored or one of my many mental health issues taking over, but that isn't the case. I stopped playing NeverAwake feeling refreshed, happy, energized and above all, satisfied. It scratched an itch that I needed, and it all has to do with the Neotro Inc. just having built around such a great foundation and followed the blueprint to perfect accuracy. Here let me explain.


For starters, the game is colorful. It uses some very well-done art design choices. It has this vibe of nightmare mixed with rainbows that makes the eyes just constantly want to see what happens next. Something akin to a Tim Burton movie. With amazingly detailed levels that consistently span as you progress, the enemies and environments really did suck me into the game. The flashy colors of projectiles running all over the place was easy to see and recognize and played big roles within the gameplay which I'll talk about in a second. NeverAwake produced this somber feeling of genuine interest in each level, with me wondering "what will happen next?" or "what will pop out of the screen this time?"



When you couple this with a phenomenal soundtrack and audio queues and effects, it just drags you into the world more. The soundtrack was very well done. My hats off to the chef for providing such a delicious display of emotions through the music and all of the shooting. It wasn't overbearing, it wasn't aggressive, it gave the sense of mellow chill vibes, that allowed me to focus on the gameplay. The graphics combined with the music is what made the gameplay that much more appeal. The games controls were simple and easy. Using the left stick to move around the map, while using the right stick to have a 360-degree shooting range. With the maps always shifting and creatures popping up out of nowhere from all angles, I was always on alert and prepared. Though I died quite a bit, because I SUCK at action shooters, I didn't feel frustrated. I wanted to keep going and keep playing. I didn't want to put the controller down.


So why does this all work? I mean, I have said it over and over again, game companies should take risks when making games in over saturated genres. When a genre doesn't really provide a lot to work with, you have to find a way to standout, and taking risks really is the best option. Nothing about NeverAwake is risky. Even with the ability to purchase new skills and weapons in the game, that isn't a risk. So why does this game feel like a A or AA title? It's because Neotro Inc. just embraced the fundamentals and focused on the basics. Game genres make a difference on how much you can be risky or how much you can't. Action Shooters, you really can't do much with them. So, you have to focus on the fundamentals. Good graphics, even better soundtrack and consistent interactive gameplay. That's it. That's all you need to make an action shooter that will trigger all the latent emotional feelings of sitting downplaying R-Type on the SNES. Neotro Inc. didn't play risky because, they didn't have to. They knew what they wanted their project to be and focused on providing the three big important aspects of the genre and it just works.

NeverAwake was a nice reprieve from my norm. It left me feeling refreshed and just joyful because of childhood memories. Everyone who has read my articles know that I'm ALL about audio sensations and this game delivered. If there was a soundtrack that I could listen to only, I would in a heartbeat. It's THAT good. This game would be a very good addition to anyone's library of action shooters.


You can play NeverAwake on G.Round at this link here. Just make sure you sign up to play this and many other games which get posted every week.

33 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page